真锅大度 │ ELEVENPLAY

真锅大度 │ ELEVENPLAY

艺术家简介

真锅大度 │ ELEVENPLAY

真锅大度 │ ELEVENPLAY

艺术家简介

11月5日上线

一手包办,让艺术更「色色」(いろいろ)

早在1970年代,不断挑战成规的编舞家简宁汉(Merce Cunningham)已开始创造专供镜头拍摄的舞作。摄影机,不仅纪录台上演出实况,更变成编舞家。

当Art Tech成为潮流之前,日本新媒体艺术家真锅大度已经走得很前。例如2013年,人工智能还没成为热话,他便研发了一套自动交易系统,从东京證券交易所抽取买卖数据,实时转化为互动艺术品。

 

真锅与伙伴成立的团队Rhizomatiks往绩骄人。作为2016年奥运会闭幕式的导演,把编舞、舞者动作与硬件融合而成扩增实境和视像投射,赢得一致讚许;为日本人气女子乐队Perfume的演唱会打造奇幻视效,多年来与女子舞团ELEVENPLAY不断测试崭新意念。硬件软件製作兼擅,真锅更由零开始学跳舞,把他想做的,做得更透彻全面。

最熟悉舞作的,自是舞者本身。今趟,ELEVENPLAY同时扮演摄影师,用智能电话自拍新作,再由Rhizomatiks添色。

「看」与「被看」的关係,从来不是清一色。

团队

Daito Manabe │ ELEVENPLAY

Daito Manabe │ ELEVENPLAY

About the Artists

Daito Manabe │ ELEVENPLAY

Daito Manabe │ ELEVENPLAY

About the Artists

Premieres on 5 Nov

A true master does it all

Ever the boundary pusher, legendary choreographer Merce Cunningham, by the 1970s, had started creating dance work specifically to be filmed. The camera was thus no mere witness to the action but a choreographer in its own right.

And long before art tech became a trend, Japanese new media auteur Daito Manabe was already miles ahead of his time. In 2013, for instance, when AI was still relatively unknown, he masterfully developed an automated trading system and transformed real-time transaction data from the Tokyo Stock Exchange into an interactive art piece.

 

Rhizomatiks, co-founded by Manabe and his creative partner, has a lot to be proud of: their direction of the 2016 Olympic Games closing ceremony, where choreography, dancers’ movements and perfectly-synced hardware melded into AR and projected visuals, won worldwide acclaim; they have also tailored concert effects for Japanese pop group Perfume, while working closely with the all-female dance troupe ELEVENPLAY to try out their new ideas. From hardware to software, the pair do it all — and Manabe is even learning how to dance too to be a true master of his art.

When it comes to dance work, the choreographer/dancer naturally know best. This time, ELEVENPLAY doubles as the cameraman to film their latest act with smartphones, before Rhizomatiks adds the final touch.

The viewer and the viewed — a paradox that never ceases to inspire.

Credits